Lighting the shot

Another reading which interested me was ‘Lighting the shot’ (Bernstein, Steven. Film Production, (p.211-221). Oxford: Focal Press, 1994). Having a photography background, I am not new to lighting. I completely understand the need to getting the lighting right as it can make or break the shot. This reading further introduced me to lighting for movement. It describes three different styles of lighting which can be used for moving subjects, i.e,

a) Overlap (using several key lights regularly paced at same angle, with area of coverage slightly overlapping)

b) Pools (places the lights in much the same way, but there is no overlap)

c) Flat ( lighting the set ‘flat’)

These points are illustrated with diagrams which give a better understanding of various lighting that can be done for moving subjects. I had seen them in movies before but could never understand how the continuity in the shot was maintained. Though I am sure there are more options to achieve that, this reading definitely cleared some doubts.

Secondly, it explains On side and Off Side key lighting with diagrams. Now when I see images on Google, photographed using on side/off side lighting setup, I can tell the difference. Offside lighting is more attractive to look at and gives a gives a sense of realism to the shot. The spotlight is not on the subject  but on the background while the subject is adequately lit with a fill light.

Leave a comment