Abstract Editing Exercise

Abstract-Haiku edit link

For our Abstract Editing exercise we were asked to use video and audio clips recorded by another student and edit it in context to a Haiku Proverb. I chose the following Haiku proverb to work with:

Come come! Come Out!
From bogs old frogs command the dark
and look…the stars” 
― Kikaku, Japanese Haiku

If I have to reshoot video and audio to create a similar edit. I would shoot shadows of people on walls lit with street light, strong silhouettes, empty spaces in contrast with crowded places. Despite that, I believe I found some interesting visuals to work with.

When I started with the edit, I had no clue how to go about it. I decided to go through each clip and audio and make notes for them. Then I chose the most interesting clips and audio I wanted to work with. I wrote down keywords for visuals on left side in a column and keywords for audio in a column on the right side. I paired them up to create some some meaning out of the Haiku proverb. Initially it was a bit frustrating to work with unknown content but as the ideas started flowing, I was excited to see how it would turn out. The process forced me to be spontaneous and creative and experiment with what was available.

Leave a comment